Profile Picture
CosmicThing2 Jul 11, 2021
Version 3.10.12
Custom Items is, for the most part, a very good plugin. If you want to add new items to the game on a server running Paper/Spigot, this is what you need. The plugin works and does allow you to add a huge range of things. You can add a simple sword with your own texture that does more damage or attacks faster, or you can go a bit more complex and add different triggers and effects to your items, like when you right click it gives you certain effects or creates blocks. Adding custom ores is also very interesting and does work 'mostly' well.

However, if I were to critique the plugin, the whole thing does feel a little bit 'hacky'. Obviously this may be the only option as Minecraft isn't exactly designed for you to just add your own items, but it doesn't change the fact that the plugin is quite fiddly to use. Adding a simple sword that does more damage (and has a texture) is fine, but as soon as you want to mess around with different triggers and handlers to make cool stuff happen, it gets quite annoying. There is documentation and a wiki which is semi-decent, but it's spotty - for some parts there's loads of information (almost too much) and some parts there's very little. Not all items work either (due to limitations in Minecraft); custom armor is a no go and custom blocks/ores do work, but they're effectively reskinned mushroom blocks. This means that every block you create will break like/as fast as a mushroom block, just with different textures and drops. Even when you think you've created an item correctly, some of the handlers are very picky about the exact syntax you have to use and the items which do or don't work. Handlers don't often give errors either so quite often I had items just 'not work' and since there's few errors or messages, I would spend the next hour trying to debug and figure out why the item wasn't doing anything which can be frustrating.

Custom Items also has a Discord server which is great, but again, support is a bit spotty. Sometimes you'll have someone immediately respond but then I've also posted questions before and had no response at all. Finally the plugin does get updated often, which is great and I'm glad the developer is supporting it still, but I have had big updates implemented before which have just suddenly broken all my items without any warning or information beforehand.
Profile Picture
Tarukya May 11, 2021
Version 3.8.33
I absolutely love this plugin. My first day using it I was able to create a custom block with a custom texture and bring it into my multiplayer server and it looks amazing! I truly expected it to be much more difficult but just doing a thorough read through the wiki (and the Discord is super helpful too) made it no problem at all. Now I'm creating some new ores and custom weapons and my players love it! I have never left a review for a plugin but any server owner should have this. Thank you!!!
Profile Picture
Nesoberi Dec 25, 2020
Version 3.7.29
Best plugin for custom items! Differently to other plugins, this allows you to create a new item by yourself. It is hard at first, but once you get the gist you can create anything, I've made weapons, armors, food, drinks, ores, and more, my players love it.
What I like the most is the order you can have with your items, from the files to versions for each item that you can update for all your players!
Support is great, if there's an issue or a bug, it will get solved soon.
An amazing plugin, worth buying if you want to make custom items seriously
Profile Picture
Athame Dec 5, 2020
Version 3.7.19
Worked excellently, and the developer is very helpful, and he accepts ideas and fixes your problems.
:))) againnn
Profile Picture
notyuri Oct 25, 2020
Version 3.6.17
This plugin is extremely diverse and can almost match 1:1 with a modded server with the combined power of this + Skript.

I recommend highly for those server managers wishing to boost their server uniqueness all around.
Profile Picture
Crysillion Jul 3, 2020
Version 3.2.1
Phenomenal plugin. There's others like it, but let me be clear - they do not have the level of support that Custom Items does. This is the premier plugin for this kind of thing. Any other plugin might as well be a cheap knockoff.
Profile Picture
xArise Jun 2, 2020
Version 2.19.2
This plugin is extraordinary. It allows the creation of new items and blocks, and yes the description is correct. You can do it all without ANY mods and you won't need to replace a single item/block for it to work. It's very user friendly and the files are easy to edit. You can also edit the items in-game with a special GUI. I'd highly recommend this plugin to anyone who's looking to create their own items or blocks on their server. It truly is my favorite plugin and you don't need any experience with coding to be able to figure out how to use it. Jojodmo, the developer, is very talented and helpful. He also has a discord server for support in the case of any bugs that may occur or simply just to help answer your questions! Updates release all the time, you can just check out the updates tab if you don't believe me. It's honestly 100% the BEST plugin on the market, and I promise you won't regret your purchase.


Verify your email address to post a review!

Lost the email? Request a new email verification message here. Make sure to check your spam and junk folders!